Top 10 Most Personally Anticipated Reads

With 2016 has come quite a bit of change in my reading schedule—that is to say, more books, more variety, and more excitement. After taking a quick break from the blog to go on vacation, I definitely realized how excited I am about the books on my TBR, and this week I am thrilled to share with you my top ten most anticipated reads.

1. Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

homegoing

I cannot wait for this read. I love family epics, sister complexes, and a multitude of plots in a single story. This book sounds beautiful and has gotten incredible reception. I honestly would just hug this book if I had it in my hands; it sounds SO. PERFECT.

2. Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

catscradle

Since reading one of my favorite books of all time, Slaughterhouse-Five, I’ve wanted to read Cat’s Cradle. I can’t imagine why I haven’t picked it up yet, but I do know that this is the year.

3. The Moral Animal by Robert Wright

moralanimal

I’m a huge psychology geek. I would’ve majored in it had I not been an ever bigger English geek (go figure). But the concept of evolutionary psychology has always fascinated me, and the moment I heard about this book I knew it was a must-read.

4. The Jewel by Amy Ewing

thejewel

I. Love. Pretty. Covers. GAAAHHH. So gorgeous. But the real reason I’m excited for this is the idea of a beautiful world surrounded by corruption. I’ve always loved that concept. I think this will definitely be an interesting portrayal of the meaning of being a woman, the worth of wealth, and… oh gosh I hope there’s ballroom dancing. *swoon*

5. The Steep and Thorny Way by Cat Winters

steepandthornyway

To start, I love Cat Winters, so this was an immediate YES PLEASE kind of book. But then to go even further and say this is a retelling of Hamlet, with a mixed race protagonist living in racist Oregon circa 1923… All of the yes. I already love this book and all I’ve read is the title.

6. A Hundred Thousand Worlds by Bob Proehl

hundredthousandworlds

Comic books, cosplay, all things geek… Right up my alley. Add that with what sounds like a beautiful relationship between a mother and her son, and I would go so far as to say this is the book I am second most excited to read in these upcoming months. Oh gosh, please take my breath away. I am so ready.

7. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins

themoonstone

I’ve loved mysteries ever since being that Nancy Drew-obsessed little girl who dreamt of being a jet-setting detective. I’ve never read Wilkie Collins and I’m hopelessly excited to read a masterwork of the founder of the detective mystery genre.

8. Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

nevernight

Hogwarts. For assassins. Strong female protagonist. I’m sold.

9. My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

myheartandotherblackholes

I can’t imagine a more interesting concept for contemporary young adult fiction: “a physics nerd obsessed with plotting her own death.” But to further this and make it a strange, beautiful, touching love story… My heart, goddamn. I am 95% positive I will love this book.

10. The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon

thelawofmoses

As the last book on the list, and my most anticipated of all, I’d just like to leave you with the Goodreads description, which touched me in a way I never thought a synopsis could.

“If I tell you right up front, right in the beginning that I lost him, it will be easier for you to bear. You will know it’s coming, and it will hurt. But you’ll be able to prepare.

Someone found him in a laundry basket at the Quick Wash, wrapped in a towel, a few hours old and close to death. They called him Baby Moses when they shared his story on the ten o’clock news – the little baby left in a basket at a dingy Laundromat, born to a crack addict and expected to have all sorts of problems. I imagined the crack baby, Moses, having a giant crack that ran down his body, like he’d been broken at birth. I knew that wasn’t what the term meant, but the image stuck in my mind. Maybe the fact that he was broken drew me to him from the start.

It all happened before I was born, and by the time I met Moses and my mom told me all about him, the story was old news and nobody wanted anything to do with him. People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids, and kids grow up to be teenagers. Nobody wants a messed up teenager.

And Moses was messed up. Moses was a law unto himself. But he was also strange and exotic and beautiful. To be with him would change my life in ways I could never have imagined. Maybe I should have stayed away. Maybe I should have listened. My mother warned me. Even Moses warned me. But I didn’t stay away.

And so begins a story of pain and promise, of heartache and healing, of life and death. A story of before and after, of new beginnings and never-endings. But most of all…a love story.”


 

Now I have to know: which books are you most excited about reading in the not-so-distant future? Let me know in the comments! As always, I hope you enjoyed the article, and I hope you have a fantastic day full of books!

-Avery

 

Leave a Reply

